St. Martin’s was begun in 1912 on what used to be the western edge of Calgary at 28th St in Kilarney. For over 90 years it served west Calgary into East Springbank. In 1999 the congregation sold its historic building and relocated its Sunday worship to the Calgary Academy to better serve the new neighbourhoods growing westwards. In 2004, the congregation bought a magnificent site of land at the corner of St. Moritz Drive (formerly 89th St.) and 17th Ave. SW with the intent to build a new home for the parish. In July 2007, St. Martin’s received land-use re-designation by the city, for a future church building project.
There is a great future that lies ahead and a community that gathers now to worship, grow in faith and collectively discover a lived Christian spirituality for our time. It’s been called a church “without walls.”